Emison Award Winners

The Sam Emison Award is bestowed upon a person who has demonstrated a significant commitment and made significant contributions to the practice of family law in the State of Texas

The recipient of The Sam Emison Award shall receive a suitable plaque or other indication of the award, and may at the election of the Board of Directors receive a monetary honorarium in an amount to be set by the Board of Directors. The award shall ordinarily be made at the annual membership meeting held at the State Bar of Texas' Advanced Family Law Course.

Notice of the award to a recipient will be given in the Academy's Newsletter and in other appropriate fashions. The Board of Directors shall decide when the Award will be given, and to whom, and whether or not a cash honorarium will be given, and in what amount.

The most recent recipient of The Sam Emison Award shall be entitled to attend the Academy's next trial institute without paying a course registration fee. This waiver does not extend to transportation, food or lodging. No person who is an Officer or Director of the Academy at the time decision is made to choose the recipient of The Sam Emison Award shall be eligible to receive the Award.

[Art. X, § 1, Academy Bylaws 1997]

1004

Past recipients of The Sam Emison Award are:

| 1984 | 1988 | 1992 |
|------------------------|-------------------------|----------------------|
| Justice Barbara Culver | Reba Rasor | Scott T. Cook |
| Midland | Dallas | Corpus Christi |
| 1985 | 1989 | 1993 |
| Kenneth D. Fuller | Larry H. Schwartz | Donn C. Fullenweider |
| Dallas | El Paso | Houston |
| 1986 | 1990 | 1994 |
| Everett Lord | Justice Linda B. Thomas | Oliver S. Heard, Jr. |
| Beaumont | Dallas | San Antonio |
| 1987 | 1991 | 1995 |
| Harry L. Tindall | Donald R. Royall | William C. Koons |
| Houston | Houston | Dallas |
| | | |

1000

1000

1996

Burta R. Raborn

Houston

2007

Jack W. Marr

Victoria

1997

Brian L. Webb

Dallas

2008

Warren Cole

Houston

1998

J. Lindsey Short

Houston

2009

Tom Vick

Weatherford

1999

John Compere

San Antonio

2010

Ike Vanden Eykel

Dallas

2000

Thomas J. Purdom

Lubbock

2011

Jimmy Loveless

Ft. Worth

2001

Michael McCurley

Dallas

2012

David McClure

El Paso

2002

Justice Ann McClure

El Paso

2013

Tom Ausley

Austin

2003

Richard Orsinger

San Antonio

2014

Kathy Kinser

Dallas

2004

Cheryl L. Wilson

San Antonio

2015

Hon. Dean Rucker

Midland

2005

James D. Stewart

San Antonio

2016

Diana Friedman

Dallas

2006

Gary L. Nickelson

Fort Worth

Honorary Members

Since 1984, the Academy has bestowed five honorary memberships upon individuals who have made significant contributions to Texas Family Law. Those honorary members are:

Justice Barbara Culver Former Texas Supreme Court Justice Midland, Texas

Professor Joseph McKnight Southern Methodist University School of Law Dallas, Texas

Professor John J. Sampson University of Texas School of Law Austin, Texas

Professor Eugene Smith (deceased) University of Houston Law Center Houston, Texas

David Gray
"Interesting Cases"
Houston, Texas

EMISON AWARD PROCEDURES

There is a traveling "one year keep in your office" big Emison trophy kept by the current Emison award winner. Generally the current recipient is responsible for getting the "big" trophy to the TAFLS dinner at the Advanced Family Law Course to be presented to the next recipient.

The name plate on it requires a special engraving machine and the only place known that can do it is:

Awards Mart 4831 Whirlwind St. San Antonio, TX 78217 (866) 901 9900 toll free (210) 655 4848

The owner is Larry Jennings

This info is from Jimmy Loveless (dated July, 2008):

In '07 when we took the big trophy in to be engraved the name plate was full so we had them make a new plate to hold more names.

The small - 2 foot permanent statue is not designed to have a "place" to affix a name plate, so we bought a nice carved base for it to sit on (from Awards Mart) and they do a name plate for us at Awards Mart -

John Compere bought 10 small statutes in the mid 90's and kept them at his office. By 2004 he was down to one and the place where he bought them had gone out of business.

I searched out for a new source and found almost identical statues at a bronze house in New Jersey - so I ordered 8 - which was all they had in stock at them time.

The oldest statute [Compere purchase] has a 6" base - I have 5 of the new ones and they have a 5 1/2 base. Awards Mart has to order the bases out of Washington - so I have asked them to order enough bases to fit all of the statues we have left and will place them with the statutes when I get them.

He will ship them to me when the base for this year's recipient is engraved and I will bring it and the statue to AFLC (2008).

I will be happy to bring you (Barbara Nunneley) the 5 statues that will remain when I get the bases in - if you would like to have them - and some one needs to make a note that in about **2012 you need to order some more.**